Afternoon Tea

The Windsor Arms is a small but charming hotel situated in the heart of posh Yorkville. Blink and you’ll miss it (I know I have passed right by many a times while searching for it). Although the hotel itself is rich with pop culture history (the Toronto International Film Festival was founded here), and is frequented by many Hollywood celebrities, the thing I adore most about it is their top-notch afternoon tea.

I had tea there once before with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed it, but found the steep price to be a bit extravagant. Therefore, when a discounted opportunity (God bless Groupon) presented itself, I immediately jumped on it. I couldn’t wait to go back, and share this traditional English afternoon tea experience with Nicolas.

IMG_8829

This scrumptious triple-deckered serving tray consisted of scones, finger sandwiches, mini quiches and petit fours.

IMG_8812

Dressing up is optional but highly recommended for this regal, classy setting.

IMG_8868 IMG_8830

I’m not much for scones, but their fresh scones with clotted cream and homemade jam were light and delicious. The goat cheese and caramelized shallot tarts were definitely my favourite item (I would have gladly traded in my scones for more)!

IMG_8832

The little finger sandwiches were dainty yet full of flavour – cucumber with sundried tomato paste and dill cream cheese for myself, smoked salmon and wasabi sour cream with salmon caviar for Nicolas.

IMG_8843

They have an excellent tea selection – I went with a heavenly lavender Earl Grey.

IMG_8849

The petit fours can only be described as extremely decadent (they even had tiny pieces of gold flakes sprinkled on top)! However, we were quite stuffed from all the scones and sandwiches by the time we got to them.

IMG_8860 IMG_8861

The raspberry sorbet was a great way to end – very light and not too sweet – the perfect palate cleanser.

IMG_8877 IMG_8881

3 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea

Leave a Reply

